Georgia Drug and alcohol treatment
Heroin addiction has adversely affected Peach State residents. State officials reported that deaths from heroin rose by three hundred percent since 2010. In 2011, there were 280 deaths from heroin overdoses. Of these, quite a considerable number would have done well in drug and alcohol treatment in GeorgiaIn 2014, that number exponentially to 863.
Other extensively abused substances that contribute to the state’s addiction and overdose rates include:
- Opioid prescription drugs
Methamphetamine(Meth) is also becoming one of the fastest-growing issues for Georgia communities. State officials Sais the number of meth lab seizures rose more than 90 percent – from 67 incidents in 2007 to 128 events in 2009.
Georgia shares borders with other southeastern states; numerous drugs are transported via its multiple interstate highways.
While rates of accidental overdoses have in recent years, most of Georgia’s residents are looking for treatment. Rehabs in Georgia and drug addition centers around the nation are ready to assist those in need of treatment for any addiction. Agreeing to get assist may feel overwhelming, but our treatment caregivers can help you every step of the way.
Drug Abuse Laws in Georgia
Georgia’s law police officers take the state’s drug issues very seriously. Each year, over forty thousand people are arrested in Georgia for drug-related crimes, including the sale possession, trafficking, and production of drugs.
Offenders of Georgia’s stringent drug possession laws can face years behind bars and sky-high fines. Besides, all drug possession crimes may lead to the suspension of a person’s driver’s license for a minimum of six months. Besides the legal penalties, getting caught with drugs comes with an embarrassment that a person could carry for multiple years to come.
Marijuana possession for recreational use is a crime in Georgia. When facing addiction, a person should be enrolled in Addiction treatment centers in Georgia.In Georgia, regardless of how much marijuana a person is caught with, they could go to jail, pay a fine, or both.
Possessing one ounce or less of marijuana is regarded as a misdemeanor, punishable by jail time up to one year and a fine up to 1K. If a person is found in possession of more than one ounce, they will be charged with a felony, face up to 10 years in prison and pay a maximum $5,000 fine.
Offenders who possess marijuana intending to distribute will undergo far more severe punishment. The maximum sentence a person can face is forty years in prison and up to $1 million in fines.
Illicit Drug Possession
To determine the appropriate penalties for possession of dangerous controlled substances (CDS), Georgia uses a classification system to categorize different drugs. The drugs are classified into five “schedules,” according to each drug’s potential for addiction. Drugs in Schedules I and II are highly addictive, while substances in schedules III through V are seen as less addictive.